Recipients of 2020 Beaver Awards announced 07 Nov 2019

The Beavers News Release

Four renowned engineers from the American tunneling industry are to be recipients of the 2020 Golden Beaver Awards, one of the highest honours in the field of heavy engineering construction in the USA.

Dave Miles of Kiewit Corporation, 2019 President of the Beavers, has announced the awardees and the awards will be presented at the 65th Annual Awards Dinner to be held January 17, 2020 at the Marriott at LA Live in Los Angeles.

Timothy Barnard
Timothy Barnard
Clayton Gilliland
Clayton Gilliland

Timothy Barnard, Chairman of Barnard Construction Company of Bozeman, Montana, will receive the Management Award. Starting 44 years ago with only a pickup truck and some tools, Barnard developed his company into a successful contracting company that now takes on some of the most challenging civil engineering projects in North America, including a US$2.5 billion megaproject in Canada. In the last five years, Barnard Construction has moved up the ENR Top 400 contractor list from 193 to 110 and had 2018 revenue of US$850 million. The company culture of high safety standards has resulted in more than 90 industry awards.

Clayton Gilliland, Senior Vice President and Area Manager of Stacy and Witbeck, of Alameda, California will receive the Golden Beaver Award for Supervision. A 1990 civil engineering graduate of Kansas State University at Salina, Gilliland began his 28-year construction career as a surveyor and labourer for Herzog Contracting Corp. He steadily progressed through the ranks on major heavy civil projects in Florida, Oregon, California and Utah. He joined Stacy and Witbeck in 1999, where he has managed more than US$2.3 billion of passenger rail construction projects in the last ten years alone. He was the project manager (now Principal-in-Charge) of the US$1.2 billion Mid Coast Corridor project in San Diego, a joint venture of Stacy and Witbeck, Herzog and Skanska.

Daniel Adams
Daniel Adams
Jack Brockway
Jack Brockway

Daniel Adams, President and CEO of McMillen Jacobs Associates of Seattle, Washington will receive the Engineering Award. After earning his Bachelor and Masters degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Massachusetts and with a geotechnical concentration, Adams joined the Boston-based engineering firm Haley & Aldrich in 1988. He transferred to the San Francisco office in 1993 and joined Jacobs Associates in 1995, where he was sent to Melbourne, Australia, to serve as the senior tunnel design engineer for the Melbourne CityLink project. Prior to being named President of the firm, Adams worked for more than a decade almost exclusively as Project Manager or Principal Engineer for the design of mega projects in the water, wastewater, transit and transportation sectors. He then led the Jacobs Associates merger with McMillen in 2014.

Jack Brockway, President of Herrenknecht Tunnelling Systems USA, Sumner, Washington, will receive the Service & Supply Award. After earning a Bachelors degree in Aeronautics and Astronautics from the University of Washington and spending some years at Boeing, Brockway joined The Robbins Company in 1973, where he worked his way up to become General Manager in 1991. During these years he was part of the industry transition to mechanized tunneling, where each rock TBM was a unique creation. In 1997 he joined Herrenknect and was able to leverage his experience into soft ground tunneling to help move the industry from hand mining under compressed air conditions to the pressurized face TBM systems used on soft ground tunnel projects today.


Add your comment

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. You share in the wider tunnelling community, so please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language professional.
In case of an error submitting Feedback, copy and send the text to
Name :

Date :

Email :

Phone No :

   Security Image Refresh
Enter the security code :
No spaces, case-sensitive