ITA call for 2016 Awards nominations 09 Mar 2016

ITA News Release

Following the success of last year’s ITA Awards at the Hagerbach underground test facility in Switzerland, nominations are now being sought for the 2016 event to be held in Singapore.

Profiling particularly outstanding achievements of underground infrastructure across the world through these Awards, the ITA intends to identify and support a wide and diverse range of tunnelling projects, from large-scale and large-budget infrastructure projects to more specific groundbreaking technical innovations.

Last year the judging panel of 17 experts considered 110 entries, with the top award – Major Tunnelling Project of the Year – going to the Eurasia Project in Turkey. Once again, entries can be submitted in nine categories:

  • Outstanding Tunnelling Project of the Year - up to €50m
  • Tunnelling Project of the Year - between €50m and €500m
  • Major Tunnelling Project of the Year - over €500m
  • Renovation/Upgrading project of the Year
  • Technical Innovation of the Year
  • Environmental Initiative of the Year
  • Safety Initiative of the Year
  • Innovative Use of Underground Space
  • Young Tunneller of the Year

For the three Tunnelling Project of the Year Awards the judges will consider project implementation and features that demonstrate design and construction innovations developed for and during the project; verall approach to management of construction (methods and schedule) to successfully complete the excavation(s) within plan; development of cost saving solutions; overall Owner satisfaction with completed work, including safety and quality performance; public/community relations programs to bring public support to the project and mitigation of construction impacts in urban areas; evidence of “value added” and other interesting features. Winning projects will be able to demonstrate successful completion of projects that inspire future underground work.

For full details of all the qualifying criteria for all Awards categories visit the ITA website at Applications can be made up to 30 May, and a selection panel will announce the finalists by mid-July 2016. The ceremony will take place at the end of a two-day conference in Singapore on 10-11 November.


Add your comment

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. You share in the wider tunnelling community, so please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language professional.
In case of an error submitting Feedback, copy and send the text to
Name :

Date :

Email :

Phone No :

   Security Image Refresh
Enter the security code :
No spaces, case-sensitive